Exhibition from Yekaterinburg

20 May 2016
Press Office of the Amber Museum

The exhibition from Yekaterinburg "Not by Bread Alone..." was opened in the Kaliningrad Regional Amber Museum on 19 May. Deputy director of the Amber Museum Irina Toropova welcomed in her speech the first visitors of the exposition. Curator of the exhibition, artist Denis Koposov told about work of Ural jewellers and stone carvers..

At the exhibition which will work until 19 June, there are presented jewellery and interior objects created by contemporary jewellers and stone carvers from Yekaterinburg. The history of Ural stone-carving and jewellery craft dates back over three centuries. It began in the epoch of Peter the Great, when in 1726, a Swedish stone-carver Christian Ref came to Ural to organize winning of gemstones and teach Russian masters. In 1751, the Imperial Yekaterinburg Lapidary Factory was opened. Also private lapidary workshops, jewellery stores worked offering interior, cult, haberdashery items, mineral collections and adornments.

Another school of Ural mastery were famous Sverdlovsk Plant "Russian Gems" – "flagship" of the large same-name national multicorporate enterprise and Sverdlovsk Jewellery Plant  created on the basis of Sverdlovsk and Kiev Jewellery Factories. Many Ural jewellers, stone-carvers and gem cutters won renown and recognition working at those enterprises.

In the 1950–1970s original jewellery art is being formed in Sverdlovsk. In 1997, section of jewellery and stone-carving art was established in the Sverdlovsk regional branch of the Union of Russian Artists. Today it is presented by over 30 stone-carvers, jewellers and gem cutters.

The contemporary Ural masters create various jewellery and stone-carving adornments using classic techniques and contemporary technologies of metal and stone treatment. We invite you to visit the exhibition of original jewellery and stone-carving art from Yekaterinburg.

Exhibitions and events related to this news